The whole point of Triage is to not spend all of your time here. When you receive an email, you can reply right away, or action it for later, by either assigning it, adding it to a timeline, or marking it as Low Priority and then clearing it, so you can move on to the work that needs your attention.

Index

Assigning an email

Sometimes when you get an email, additional actions are needed before you can reply. If the email requires you or someone on your team to take action, you can assign the email to yourself or a colleague.

Assigning an email is easy! Click on the Assign icon on your email or, on the Options menu "...", select Assign to me or to a colleague.

When the modal displays, type your colleague’s name (if you are assigning the item to yourself, type your own name or simply 'me') and select them. You can also add a To-do date to indicate when the email should be actioned and due date if there's a deadline. Select Assign & clear if you wish to clear the email from Triage immediately, or click the arrow next to it and hit Assign (this will not clear the email).

We recommend using the comments field when assigning to colleagues, to add a bit of guidance and additional information as to what you expect your colleague to do.

Once you assign an email, the assignee details will display when the email is collapsed. When you expand it, you will see an audit trail with the assignee details, and your colleague will receive a notification of the assignment in their Triage.

Now that this email has been assigned, it will exist in the assigned person's to-do list to action later.

Instead of assigning emails to yourself, go ahead and click on 'Plan for This week'. That will move the email or note to 'My Week', where you can prioritise what you want to work on now, and plan your work for the week. You can clear the email afterwards, as it will stay in 'My Week' until you move it to 'Done'. It's a quick and easy way of clearing your Triage, and when you're ready to action those emails, you can always find them in 'My Week'.

Create a contact from an email

When you receive an email, in order for it to show up in the person's timeline, you need to add the sender as a contact.

Expand the email and click on the sender name. This will display a preview card with the name. If it reads Add contact, it means this person is not a contact in Karbon, so click on it.

Once you do, you can select whether you want to create a new contact or add this one to an existing one. If you select "add to existing" and the contact doesn't exist, you'll still be able to add the new contact.

Once the contact is added, all of your emails to and from this contact will appear on the contact's timeline automatically.

Add an email to a contact timeline

Easily store an email or file an email away by adding the email to a contact timeline.

If you add the sender of an email as a contact, with auto-sharing or sharing options turned on, the email will show up in that contact's timeline automatically.

However, you might want that email to show in another contact's timeline (for example, the sender's organization.) In that case, you click on 'Add to Timeline' and choose to search by contact. Start searching for the contact, and select from the dropdown. You can also create a new contact if it doesn't exist, by clicking on 'Create Contact'. The email will now show up on all added contact timelines.

Add an email to a work item

If an email relates to a specific job you are doing for a client, consider adding it to the timeline for that specific work item. When you add an email to work, the thread from then onwards will automatically be added to the work timeline.

You can link an email to Work directly from an email by clicking "Add to work" within the email, the Work icon on the action bar or the email's options menu "...", selecting "Add to work" or "Create work"

From the modal, search for the name of the piece of work (or click 'Create Work' to create a new work item) and select from the drop-down. You can filter your search results by status to include only the work that is relevant. Adding a job to a work item will also add the email to the timeline of the client for whom the work item is created.

Once the email has been linked to the work item, you will see the link for the work item under the title of the email. Click on this to get to the related work item.

Adding an email to multiple work items

If your email relates to more than one job, it can be added to multiple work items. There is no limit to the number of work items that an email can be added to. However, when an email is added to multiple work items, one of these work items becomes the 'primary work item'. This primary work item is:

  • The work item that is listed under the email subject

  • Where the email will be listed if you are sorting your To-do list by Work.

The primary work item is automatically selected, based on the following criteria (in order):

  1. Based on privacy settings of the work items (Public, Private, Hidden). eg. if only one work item is Public, and the rest are Private or Hidden, the Public work item will be the primary work item for that email

  2. If there is more than one work item attached to that email, with the same privacy setting, then the first work item that the email was attached to will become the primary work item

Once an email is attached to a work item, the email's Contact will be updated to become the client of that work item. If you would like to change the primary work item for an email, simply remove the current work items from the email, then re-add them—with the primary work item chosen first.

Mark an email as Low Priority

Watch this quick 1-minute video on how to mark emails as Low Priority and where those Low Priority emails go.

Marking emails as Low Priority is very useful for emails that you don't need to act on right away, such as event invites and newsletters. This keeps your Triage uncluttered and ensures that you only see emails that need your immediate attention.

You can mark an email address as Low Priority by clicking on the email’s options menu and selecting ‘Low priority. This will set the sender’s email address as Low Priority and all future emails from that address will automatically sit in your Low Priority section.

If you decide that you no longer want the email address marked as Low Priority, click on the options menu and remove the Low Priority setting. All future emails from that sender will revert back to being delivered to Triage.


Be sure to visit Low Priority weekly, if not daily, to action these emails or clear them out in bulk, to make sure you don't miss out on anything. You can find your Low Priority emails in the main menu on the left, under 'Triage'. A cleared "Low Priority" email will sit in your cleared items section and be archived in your email inbox.

Clear an email

Clearing an email will remove it from Triage, and archive it in your inbox.

If you do not need to take any action with an email or have already actioned it (is attached to a contact and/or work timeline and/or assigned to a to-do list) you should clear it from Triage.

When you clear an email in Karbon it will not delete the email in your email client, but it does do a few things:

  1. It removes the email from Triage

  2. It lists the email in Cleared Items in the main menu under 'Triage', so that you can view it or unclear it if you cleared it by mistake

  3. It moves the email from your email inbox to the Archive folder for Office 365 and Exchange, or the All Mail folder for Gmail

This email will still be searchable to you and others who have access to this email when using Global Search in Karbon. If you do not wish for this email to be visible in Search for others, click on the info tray of the email and ensure that the email does not exist on any public contact or work timelines.

To clear an email, click on the clear icon from your email actions menu:

When an email is cleared from Triage, it will be located in your Cleared Items, found under 'Triage' in your main menu on the left.

The email will also be archived in your regular email inbox. For Gmail, they will be archived in an "All Mail" folder and for O365 and Microsoft Office, they will be archived in the "Archive" folder.

Bulk selecting and clearing items from Triage

You can bulk select and clear all your Triage items from the last day, week or month. Just select the items you want to clear, and click 'Clear' at the top.

You can undo this action from the confirmation message that will appear in the bottom left of your screen. This message will display for approximately three seconds.

Suggested articles

How to create, write and send an email

How to reply to an email

Did this answer your question?