Karbon is designed to provide complete visibility across your team, which extends to email, internal communication, contact details, work items and tasks. From time to time, however, you may not wish to share some communication, or an entire contact and their work details with your entire team. Karbon provides a number of privacy settings that allow you to control the level of visibility provided across your team.
You can choose to make any contact private, which means that only members of the client team will have access. There are 3 privacy levels that can be applied to a contact: public, private and hidden.
The client details and work are public by default and everyone in the team has access to it.
Only the client team will have access to that private contact and their work. Colleagues who do not have access will see the client and work names, but will not be able to view any details or communication.
There are several ways to add a colleague outside of the client team to a work item for a private contact:
Assign the colleague a task within the work item
Assign the colleague a note that is linked to the work item
@mention a colleague in a note that is linked to the work item
Add the colleague to the associated client team
Reassign the work item to the colleague
Assign the colleague an email that is linked to the work item
Keep in mind that when you assign a colleague to anything related to the work item and not the contact, they will only have access to that work item. Those colleagues as well as the entire client team will have access to any tasks, notes and emails that flow through that contact’s work item.
If you do not want to share a specific note or email with a private client you will need to go into your Triage > Info tray > Briefcase icon > deselect those associated with the email you’d like to keep private.
In addition to the rules for private contacts, only the client team will be able to see the contact. Colleagues without access will not know the contact or work related to it exists in Karbon (it will not show up in the global search.)
If you are assigned a task, note or email on a hidden work item, only those with access to that work item will be able to see those tasks in your to-do list. Scheduled work for a hidden client will also be hidden.
To toggle between these privacy settings, go into the details tab of a contact, organization or work item, select edit and choose your level of privacy.
Shared vs. Unshared Emails
By default emails are unshared, they can however be shared with a contact’s timeline or a work item. You can link an email to Work directly from an email by clicking "Add to work" within the email, the Work icon on the action bar or the email's options menu "...", selecting "Add to work" or "Create work".
If you add the sender of an email as a contact, the email will show up in that contact's timeline automatically.
In some cases, you may want that email to show up on another contact's timeline (for example, the sender's organization). To add it you just click on the Options menu "..." and select Add to contact.
Start searching for the contact, and select from the dropdown. You can also create a new contact if it doesn't exist (for example, Adam & Smith Consulting.)
The email will now show up in the organization's timeline.
You can remove an email from a timeline by clicking ‘X’ from the email’s timeline tray.
An email is visible to any participants in an email conversation (including BCC and CCC recipients), colleagues added through email comments or those with access to a work or contact timeline that the email has been added to.
The email's colleague's tab will list everyone in your team who is able to see the email.