Client tasks can be manually sent immediately, or scheduled to automatically send in the future. You can send client tasks from the assignee of the work, the client owner or a different colleague, and they can only be sent to people you have saved as a contact.

Index

Sending a client task

Your Client tasks will send in an email to your client. These emails and responses from your client, will show on the contact and work timelines.

To set up the sending of your Client tasks, select 'Sending Settings' for the Client task section that you want to send.

You'll then be presented with a box to choose who you will send your Client tasks to, and who from.

If you have a client with multiple email addresses, you can choose which address their client tasks will be sent to when setting up the client tasks.

Search for the contact like normal, the pick list will include email addresses that have been saved for that client. You can choose from that list the appropriate email address, and select 'Next.'

Manual send

Choose 'Send tasks now' to manually send. The email containing the Client tasks will be sent from the team member you have specified in the 'From' field.

Automatic send

You can schedule Client tasks to auto send in the future, a certain number of days before or after the work item's start date (for a template) or on a specific date (for a work item). Once you have chosen your date, click 'Next'.

If the work is already on a schedule and you are choosing to 'Schedule the tasks to auto send later', Karbon will ask you if you would like to update this instance or all instances of the work.

Auto Reminders

There is an option to schedule automatic reminders to send to your clients, reminding them to complete any outstanding client tasks. You can choose to have your clients reminded gently, urgently or based on your own customizable preference.

A limit is applied to the number of reminders that will auto-send for a single Client task. After the fifth reminder to your client, they will stop. If you want to override this limit, you can resend the Client tasks and the count will start again.

This is implemented to reduce the likelihood of your emails to clients being blocked. Identical emails that are sent over and over again can sometimes be flagged by SPAM filters.

You can choose to have your clients reminded gently, urgently or customize to your needs:

  • Gentle reminders
    Send seven days before the task due date, on the task due date and then everyday after a task is overdue

  • Urgent reminders: send everyday

  • Custom reminders

    Customize the frequency and select how often your clients will receive reminder emails

Click 'Save' to set your client tasks to send.

If you later edit custom reminders to select a different frequency, the next reminder will be sent the number of days you chose from the date it was changed.

Example: If the custom reminders were originally set to sent every 3 days, and then today you change the reminders to send 7 days, the next reminder will be sent 7 days from today.

Once all the client tasks have been completed, no other reminders will be sent out; however, your client will still have access until the overall work item is Completed. If you add another client task to a completed section, you will have to click on the options menu '...' to resend the tasks again.

Choosing who your client task emails come from

You can choose who your client task emails and reminders will be sent from. From within the work item's task section, select 'Sending Settings' button on the Client task module.

A modal will appear where you can select who the client task will come from. It can come from the work assignee, client owners, or another colleague.

If you would like the email to come from yourself, and you are neither the work assignee or the client owner, select 'Other colleague' and enter your name.

Client task Emails

When you create a client task section and set the sending rules, your emails will include text outlining basic instructions for your client. You have the option to choose who the email will be sent from and what content is included in the body and subject of the email.

When you choose to send your tasks, you will be able to select who your task and reminder emails will be sent from - work assignee, client owner or another colleague. If you select client owner and there is not one, the sender will default back to work assignee.

If the person you select has an email signature set up in Karbon, the signature will be added to all client task emails.

Edit Client task emails

You have the option to edit the email when you are choosing to send your client tasks. If you would like to create a customized client task email for a specific client or contact, this may be done in the work item or within a work template. If the work is set up on a schedule, all work in the series will adopt the customized email. If client task emails are customized on a template, all work created from the template will adopt these changes and have the same client task emails.

You will be able to customize the email body and email subject text for every client task you send. You will have the option to edit both the initial client task email, and your task reminder emails. Once you're done editing, simply click 'Save'.

Keep in Mind there is a character limit of 4,000 for the body of a client task email.

Edit reminder emails

Once the client task email is customized and saved, you are brought to the reminder set up where you can not only set the reminder schedule, but also edit the reminder emails by clicking on 'Edit Reminder Email'.

Client Email Placeholders

Placeholders are used to insert correct names and numbers into the client task and reminder emails. They are included by default in your client task emails - you'll see these when you choose to edit an email for the first time.

When you edit a client task email or reminder email, you can add placeholders for the work name, client name, contact name or salutation.

In the default email shown below, the placeholders can be moved around or removed altogether. If you do remove the placeholders, you can use them again by copying from the text below the email.

By default, your client task emails will be addressed to the contact's preferred name. If your contact does not have a preferred name specified, the contact's full name will be used.

If the above email was sent out, this is what the email would look like to your client:

Available placeholders:

  • <%work_name>
    Will update to the name of the work item

  • <%client_name>
    Will update to the name of the client the work is for

  • <%preferred_name>
    Will update to the preferred name of the client the tasks are for. If the contact has no preferred name specified, the full name will be used instead

  • <%contact_name>

    Will update to the name of the contact the tasks are being sent to

  • <%reminder_number>

    Will update to the reminder number. This is the number of reminders that have been sent to the client for these tasks

  • <%salutation>

    Can be updated within the Basics area of the Details tab for a person contact

Resend Client tasks

Client tasks can be resent to update the client contact, emails or reminder settings.

Click on the options menu '...' of the client task section and choose 'Resend Client tasks'. You will then be able to update the client, the sender of the client tasks and the Client task email.

In the next screen, you'll be able to edit the send to/send from fields, reminder settings and edit the reminder email.

Cancel a Client task

If a client task is scheduled to send automatically, you can choose to cancel sending. To cancel the sending of a client task that is scheduled to send date future date, choose 'Cancel Sending' from the task's options menu.

Client task notifications

If a client takes any action on a client task you have assigned to them, the work assignee and the sender of the task will both be notified.

When a client adds a comment, uploads a file, or marks a client task as complete, the team member who sent them the client task and the assignee of the work item the client tasks are a part of will both be notified (if they are different people).

Anyone who adds comment or is mentioned in a comment will also be added to receive notifications. Anyone with access to the work item that the client task is part of will have the option to opt in or opt-out of receiving notifications.

Suggested articles:

Client task Settings and Security

Comment on Client tasks

Add Client tasks to templates and work

See your client’s experience of client tasks

Did this answer your question?