When you use client requests, your clients will receive an email from your team that will give them access to their own unique Client Portal. There, your clients will know exactly what they need to complete and by when.
This article outlines exactly what your clients will see when you assign and send them tasks. Please note, that for communication with your clients, client requests are referred to as a checklist.
Remember, if at any stage you'd like to see the client request emails that are being sent to a client, simply look on their contact Timeline.
Who will the Client see as the sender?
Client Requests will come from the sender chosen in the Sending Settings.
Client request Email
When client requests are first sent, your clients will receive this email. Note, that the email sender will be the work owner (if automatically scheduled) or the team member who clicks 'Send tasks now', your company name and the name of the work item will also appear in the email. Once the client clicks on the request or on ‘Manage Checklist’ they are taken to the client portal where they can check off requests, upload documents, and comment on requests for clarification.
If you add a comment to a request, your client will be notified by email. This email will send approximately 10 minutes after the comment/s are added.
Once the client requests have been sent, your client will receive an email. When they click on the email link, they will be taken to their unique Karbon Client Portal that exists for the related Work.
The Karbon Client Portal is accessed through a magic link, this is a unique URL generated every time client requests are sent.
When your client accesses the requests sent to them, the link in the email is then associated with that device. This means that client requests are only accessible from that device.
From their own unique Client Portal, your client can easily upload files to each request, and check it to signal they have completed it. Clicking on a request will expand it, giving your client the option to add a comment or question, or upload a file.
Note: If you've updated the External Name when you go to send a Client Request, the work name they will see will be the External Name. This will also appear as changed in the Client Portal.
Client completes a request
When your client clicks the gray box to the left of the request name it will mark the request as complete.
When your client completes a client request or adds a document you will receive a notification in Triage, and the client request will also be marked as completed in the piece of work.
Your client can have access to all your open and closed requests, including current client requests that haven’t been completed. They'll also have copies of documents you have uploaded, so you can keep track and easily find what’s been sent.
To create a login, click the ‘create account’ button and it will ask them to create an account and enter the necessary details. As long as they are a contact in Karbon, they will be able to create a login. This will only give them access to client requests sent to them.
Once they've created an account, they can access the client portal at any time by either:
Go to your login page website
Follow the links within the Client Request emails
Once they are signed in, they'll be taken directly to the client portal which looks like this.