You cannot delete items directly from your to-do list. To-do items are marked as complete or reassigned until they are completed.
Any of these activities will remove the corresponding to-do item from the assignee's to-do list.
You can delete a task by deleting it from the work item it is attached to
Delete a note from the work or contact timeline it belongs to
Delete work items directly from its page