Karbon is designed to provide complete visibility across your team, which extends to email, internal communication, contact details, work items and tasks. From time to time however, you may not wish to share some communication, or an entire contact and their work details with you entire team. Karbon provides a number  of privacy settings that allow you to control the level of visibility provided across your team.

You can choose to make any contact private, which means that only members of the client team will have access. There are three privacy levels that can be applied to a contact: public, private and hidden

Public Contacts 

The client details and work are public by default and everyone in the team has access to it.

Private Contacts

Only the client team will have access to that private contact and their work. Colleagues who don’t have access will see the client and work names, but will not be able to view details or any communication that occurs. 

There are several ways that you could add a colleague into a private work item outside of your client team for a private contact:

  • Assign the colleague a task within a work item.
  • Assign the colleague a note that is linked to the work item.
  • @mention a colleague in a note that is linked to the work item.
  • Add a colleague to the associated client team.
  • Reassign the work item to the colleague.
  • Assign the colleague an email that is linked to the work item.

Keep in mind that when you assign a colleague to anything related to the work item, and not the contact, they will only have access to that work item. Those individuals as well as the entire client team will have access to any tasks, notes and emails that flow through that contact’s work. 

If you would not like to share a specific note or email with a private client you will need to go into your Triage > Info tray > Briefcase icon > deselect those associated with that email you’d like to keep private.

Hidden Contacts

While hidden items have many of the same rules as private, only the client team will have access to the contact. Colleagues without access will not know the contact or work related to it exists in Karbon (it will not show up in searches.)

If you are assigned a task, note or email on a hidden work item, only those with access to that work item will be able to see those tasks in your to-do list. Scheduled work for a hidden client will also be hidden.

To toggle between these privacy settings, go into the details tab of a contact or organization, select edit and choose your level of privacy

Shared vs. Unshared Emails

By default emails are unshared, they can however be shared with a contact’s timeline or a work item. You can link an email to Work directly from an email by clicking "Add to work" within the email, the Work icon on the action bar or the email's options menu "...", selecting "Add to work" or "Create work"

If you add the sender of an email as a contact, the email will show up in that contact's timeline automatically.

However, you might want that email to show in another contact's timeline (for example, the sender's organization.)

In that case, you click on the Options menu "..." and select Add to contact.

Start searching for the contact, and select from the dropdown. You can also create a new contact if it doesn't exist (for example, Adam & Smith Consulting)

The email will now show up in the organization's timeline.

To remove an email you can remove it by clicking ‘X’ from the email’s timeline tray.

An email is visible to any participants in an email conversation (including BCC and CCC recipients), colleagues added through email comments, or those with access to a work or contact timeline the email has been added to.

The email's colleague's tab will list everyone in your team who is able to see the email.

Further Reading

Did this answer your question?