If you have set a work item to repeat on a recurring schedule, future work items will be created automatically containing some information from the previous work item in the schedule.
Information carried forward includes:
Files uploaded to the task descriptions
Work item description
Budget Estimates and Fee Settings (Time & Budget tab)
Data that is not carried forward:
Emails, Notes and other items on the work timeline
Comments on Tasks or Client Tasks
Completion status of Tasks
Task due dates (more details below)
Files uploaded to Task Comments or to Client Tasks
Documents uploaded directly to the work item
Expenses or Time Entries (Time & Budget tab)
There are some important rules you should pay attention to, which may affect the items that are carried forward.
Items that are part of a schedule will be created on the date you chose for your creation of tasks and will be copied directly from the piece of work scheduled to start immediately before it.
Once this happens the items in the new piece of work will be ‘divorced’ from the piece of work they were copied from. This means it won’t be updated if any changes are made to these items in the piece of work that is scheduled earlier.
The ‘divorce’ of the work item will happen sooner than when you set your creation of tasks settings if you manually change the work’s status to ‘In progress’, or if you click on the create your tasks button on the Task tab. If you do either of these actions, the work item's tasks will be created.
Due dates for tasks will be calculated based on the prior work item depending on the number of days they are different from the start date. For example, if a monthly scheduled work item had a start date of January 1 and a specific task had a due date of January 5, then when the next month's work item was created with a February 1 start date, that respective task would have a February 5 due date. In this example, the calculation of days between work start and task due date occurs when the February tasks are being created, NOT based on the original January work item's dates. This can be important if people change the January dates prior to February's dates being created.
If you edit details that can be carried forward (like task descriptions) after the tasks in the following item in the series have been created, you can manually sync your updates to the more recent work item by using the Reset Tasks option.
If you change the work assignee to someone else, this does not carry over to scheduled work. To change the work assignee for all work on a schedule, you'll need to update the schedule.