This guide will help your practice get started with client tasks.

Step 1. Add your practice logo

When your clients access their unique view of Karbon, you can display your practice logo. So firstly, add your logo so that it’s ready to go. Do this from Practice Settings > Practice details.

Step 2. Add your client tasks

You can add client tasks to any work item, but for the purpose of this guide we are going to outline adding client tasks to a template, which you can then create work from.

2.1 Select a template

Go to Practice settings > Workflow templates and select an existing template which you like to add client tasks to.

If you don’t have an existing template, you can create a new one.

2.2 Click on Add Client Task

When you’re in your template, you can create tasks for your clients. At the bottom of your existing tasks, click Add client task.

This will create a new client task group with a black header. The tasks you set for a client will be grouped together here. You can add as many tasks as you like, and reorder them with drag and drop, just like you would with your normal.

You can also move the client task group around your task list by collapsing it, and then dragging the group to where you want it—at the very top, bottom or in the middle of a section.

If you would like to separate client tasks across your task list, you can add multiple groups. To create a new group rather than adding a new client task into an existing group, go to the bottom of your task list and click Add client task. If your existing client task group is already at the bottom, you should first create a new section to separate the groups.

2.3 Fill in Client Task information.

Client tasks work very similarly to other tasks in Karbon—you have the option to add a task name and description. You also have the ability to add documents that you want to share with your clients.

For the reminder functionality to work, the client task needs a due date. Here, you can decide if it’s due before or after the work start date. You can schedule clients tasks to be sent, so it may be useful in some scenarios for the tasks to be completed by your client before your team begins work.

Step 3. Set the client task sending rules

If you would like your client tasks to automatically send to a client, you can set sending rules.

As this is a template, you can select a date before or after the work start date, just like the due dates. If you would like to manually send the tasks from your work, do not set any sending rules.

Step 4. Set reminder rules for your client tasks

There is an option to schedule automatic reminders to send to your clients. You can choose to have your clients reminded gently, urgently or customise to your needs

  • Gentle reminders: send seven days before the task due date, on the task due date and then everyday after a task is overdue.
  • Urgent reminders: send everyday
  • Custom reminders: customize the frequency and select how often your clients will receive reminder emails.

Step 5. Creating Work with your template

Create a new work item from the template with that contains your new client tasks.

5.1 Select the client contact

If you have set up your client tasks to send automatically, you will be prompted to pick who you wish to send the client tasks to. Remember, this needs to be a Karbon contact with an email address.

If you happen to have two client task groups in the same template, you can choose to send them to the same person or to a different person.

Step 6. Sending client tasks

If you have chosen to manually send your client tasks, you can do this by clicking Send to client. Once sent, the client task group will update to show you that the tasks have been sent and when.

If you’ve set your client tasks to send automatically, they will send on the day you specified. You can always edit this via the options menu (...) and Send to client.

Once client tasks have been sent, you can resend them at any time by clicking on the options menu (...) and Send again.

6.1 Who is the client email from?

If you have set the client tasks to send automatically, the email containing the tasks will be sent from the team member who is assigned the Work.

If you manually send the tasks, the email will come from the team member who clicks Send.

As the email comes from your own email address, it will appear as a sent email on the related Work and Contact timelines.

When viewing this email on a timeline, we strongly recommend that you don’t click on the link to view the Client Tasks. This will ask you to set up a security PIN and if you set this up, your client will not be able to access these Tasks without this PIN.

Step 7. Client access

Once the client tasks have been sent, your client will receive an email. When they click on the email link, they will be taken to a unique client view of Karbon that exists for the related Work.

They will be prompted to set up a 4-digit PIN. They will be asked for this PIN whenever they access these tasks on different devices. If they forget their PIN they can easily reset it by clicking Forgot PIN.

This PIN is chosen by your client, and unique to them. They will be able to use it whenever they access client tasks.

7.1 Sending client tasks to different contacts

If you have multiple groups of client tasks with your piece of work, you can choose to send them to different people. Each person will receive their own email, be able to set their own PIN, and have their own client view that no other client can see.

Step 8. Notifications when a client completes a task

The staff member who sends the client tasks, and the assignee of the work item that the client tasks are a part of (if that person is different from the sender) will both be notified in Triage whenever the client completes a task. The task on the piece of work will also be marked as completed.

Step 9. Reminders

If you have turned on reminders for the client tasks, your client will receive reminders until they complete their tasks.

Step 10. Completing the work

Once the work is completed, your client will no longer be able to access their tasks. If you wish to reopen the work to let your client access the tasks, you can. We recommend changing the work status and then resending the client tasks.

Here are some client task FAQS that your clients may have

Did this answer your question?